What Happened When I Didn’t Meditate

What Happened When I Didn't Meditate

Tuesday was a rough day and looking back now, I helped myself start it off that way by not making enough time to meditate for 10 minutes. I was in the middle of my 3 Day Refresh (results and thoughts coming soon!) so I was experiencing withdrawal from sugar and therefore had a bad headache starting Monday night and into Tuesday all day long. One of those where you really just want to lie in a dark room with no noise and shut out the world.

I found myself irritated very easily and not very social at work, prompting my friends to ask what was wrong. At the time, I just didn’t feel like being social; we are allowed to be in our own heads sometimes! But honestly, I was annoyed with conversations around me, my work and how I was feeling in general.

As the day came to an end, I thought back through the past 2 weeks and realized the mornings where I started off with meditation, I truly did have a better day. I set my intentions for the day through meditation and it allowed me to not succumb so much to irritating things. I’m looking at meditation as my Gore-Tex if you will, a coating of repellent that allows words, thoughts, actions, etc. to slide right off.

Yesterday morning, I meditated and was in such a better place when I went to work. Even through a series of crazy work conversations that would have normally sent me reeling for the rest of the day due to the stupidity of some people, I had my moment and then moved on. Its crazy how you literally feel yourself lighten when you’re meditating but it actually happens. ┬áThis morning I woke up in a hesitant mood, one where I wasn’t sure how I was feeling or what I was thinking. I recognized this when the Headspace app teacher asked me to become aware of the feelings, not think about them per se, but just become aware of its existence.

By recognizing how you’re feeling, you’re able to figure out a way to make it better and move past that feeling. I’ve done the 10 free sessions with Headspace and have to buy their plan to continue. Its certainly not a cheap subscription but it does cost the same as one therapy session! I know I need to do it for my sanity as I’ve seen such positive results, I just feel like I’m shelling out money left and right currently.

Do you meditate daily? What tools do you use?

 

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: My 3-Day Refresh Results! Hint: they’re great! | Running with Memphis

Leave a Reply

