February Training Totals

February was my second and last pre-base, “non-official, official” training for this season. It ended up being a good month overall despite some tricky weather for Florida. I had no races this past month as I decided to sell my bib for the Treasure Coast Half Marathon. It was certainly a good decision as I honestly believe it would have been overkill and would have set me back some in my training just from the sheer standpoint of recovery time.

I am way far ahead of where I was this time last year. Last year, I wasn’t in the pool yet nor was I biking. I believe I was running some but nothing of significance. In fact, I rented a bike in Las Vegas for a day to do the 12 mile canyon loop in mid-March and couldn’t finish it. I did get pretty sick the first part of March last year which delayed the start to my training as well.

February 2015

Swim: 12,500 yards, 4:16

Bike: 9 hours (lot of Open Road trainer classes so mileage unknown)

Run: 63 miles, 10:35 hours

Several yoga and weight sessions

March is shaping up to be a good month as I have two races on the horizon. First, the Gate River Run 15k is this Saturday! It is the nation’s largest 15k and right in my back yard and from what I have heard is a major party all day. My friend is also getting married later that evening so it will be a fun weekend.

My goal is to pace well for the 15k and not start out to fast nor too slow but have enough in the tank to negative split the race despite the bridge in there. I believe the last mile is down hill!

The second race is the first triathlon of the season. Several Jacksonville triathletes will be at the Great Clermont triathlon so it will be fun kicking off the season together. Time to break out the wetsuit and struggle into that thing. I’m eager to test where I am with the swim and bike and shake the cobwebs off transition and race wise.

Last week’s training was the first official week of my Ironman plan though I didn’t really notice a difference. I did have to travel to Atlanta Wednesday evening through Friday evening so my workouts got a little messed up but I was able to get almost all of the workouts in.

Overall, I’m happy with how my pre-base phase went and will do a deeper post on gearing up for Gate and Clermont.

Leave a Reply

