Weeks 4 and 5 Review: Training for Ironman Mont-Tremblant

Whoops! I forgot to publish week 4’s review so I’ll combine them this week ๐Ÿ™‚

Week 4

Monday, January 26

Yoga- team building for work

Swimming- 1900 yards (First Fit Swim class with Katie)

Tuesday, January 27

Bike-Open Road Trainer Class for 1:00

Wednesday, January 28

Rest Day

Thursday, January 29

Run-Treadmill 3.78 miles

Bike-Spin Class at the Y for 55:00. Wasn’t feeling it. These spin classes should really be last resort for workouts

Friday, January 30

Swim-2100 yards at Fit Swim (Master’s-esque)

Saturday, January 31

Run-Group run in Riverside, San Marco, Downtown Jacksonville – 8 miles, 9:53 mile/pace, some stomach trouble

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 8.30.04 PM

Sunday, February 1

Bike-Entire length of Baldwin Trail for 29 miles at 1:41

Totals: 8 hours of training

Saturday, January 21

Week 5-Recovery week

Monday, February 2

Rest Day

Tuesday, February 3

Yoga-AM session for 1:00

Run-Speed Work along the river. Had a great session doing 8x800s with :30 rest in between each set. Total 4.5 miles

Wednesday, February 4

Strength-40 minutes of upper body and abs

Yoga-20 minutes

Thursday, February 5

Run-Had another great run. 6 miles total with 4 at tempo pace.

Mile 1: 9:06
Mile 2: 9:01
Mile 3: 8:46
Mile 4: 8:31

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 8.31.19 PM

Friday, February 6

Rest Day-much needed break mentally

Saturday, February 7

Run-10 miles! First double digits since November I believe. Got up early to get the body ready and had a great run with the group. We went to Ortega which had some rolling hills and beautiful houses to look at. 9:43/mile average pace with last mile at 9:01

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 8.29.43 PM

Sunday, February 8

Bike- easy spin to get some miles in. Did 20 miles without being concerned of speed or heart rate.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 8.29.13 PM

In addition to the daily sport-specific workouts, I also have on each day, 10 minutes of mobility work. I have found that by simply putting it on the calendar as a workout I am more likely to stick to it.

This past week was great running wise and I was happy to see progress in both my speed and endurance. I didn’t get to the pool or bike much but it was still a good overall week.

Total: 9 hours of training, 39 miles ran (might be a new weekly mileage PR)

Overall, I’m starting to find a rhythm with these workouts but as with all things, life tends to interrupt so we must go with the flow and adjust on the fly. I wasn’t expecting a no swim week but that’s what happened and I adjusted.

Mentally, I’m becoming more comfortable being uncomfortable, more so during running than biking but I know once I get used to my bike again I’ll be find that place mentally. As for the swim, well…..as long as I don’t drown and come in last I’m ok ๐Ÿ˜‰

The past two weeks personally have been mentally trying so I’m happy that I still got my workouts in. I really needed them to help me get through this muck but I also listened to my body when this past Friday it said I needed a burger and fries with a friend more than I needed a workout. Now that we are in February, I am facing my first triathlon of the season next month so its really time to start to crank things up! Here we go.

Screen Shot 2015-02-09 at 8.37.16 PM

Leave a Reply

