Week 3 Review: Ironman Mont-Tremblant Training

Week three of triathlon season training is in the books and I’m starting to get in the groove of training again. While no particular workout is long, I have been focusing on speed during my runs and staying consistent with doing a workout everyday but one.

My official 24 week plan for Ironman Mont-Tremblant doesn’t start until the first week in March but I have my first tri of the season, Great Clermont Olympic Triathlon, March 22 so I obviously I wanted to be prepared for it and build a good base going into that 24 week period. BTW, we’re 201 days out from Ironman Mont-Tremblant 🙂

Week 3 in Review

Monday: Work trip to Virginia. 25 minutes on the treadmill

Tuesday: Open Road Trainer Ride, 1:00 hour. Lots of hill climbing

Wednesday: 2nd swim of the year! 1500 yards

Thursday: 45 minutes of running with intervals. 4.5 miles

Friday: storm rolled in so stayed home and worked out. 45 minute Fitness Blender all body workout and 20 minutes of yoga

Saturday: rest day and trip to Orlando

Sunday: 7 mile run around Universal Studios, 1:09. Easy spin for 1:15 when I got back from Orlando in Ponte Vedra Beach

Total: 6 hours

I flew home from Virginia very very early Tuesday morning and was completely out of it the rest of the day until I went to the trainer class. I’m still working on getting up early to get a second workout in, maybe tomorrow things will click!

The video I did from FitnessBlender.com had a lot of squats and lunges, leaving me still sore today. My run Sunday morning was not affected by my soreness thankfully as I had a really strong run and felt awesome. I stayed in my heart rate zone and negative split the workout. Even had some elevation changes in there which was nice to mix things up.

We stayed at the Loews Portofino hotel in Universal Studios; highly recommend it! We had a view of the water and surrounding buildings and it honestly felt like we were back in Italy.

image2

image1

Recap:

Mile 1- 10:33

Mile 2- 10:09

Mile 3- 9:49

Mile 4- 9:47

Mile 5- 9:36

Mile 6- 9:32

Mile 7- 9:36

Average Heart Rate: 166

IMG_7251

I feel good about this week but am somewhat disappointed in the early week’s workouts since I was traveling and could only get on the treadmill for 25 minutes between our meeting and dinner. My travel will stay pretty consistent for work throughout this season so its something I have to manage my own expectations about and try to plan rest days around travel days. Guess that’s one benefit of being self-coached! I am glad I was able to end the week on a high note with a strong run that didn’t tax me too much. Until next time…

IMG_7257

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

