Who am I around?

David cover

Yesterday was a very tough day for my Rev3 Team family as we suddenly lost one of our team members to a freak accident. David and his wife Ashley just moved to San Antonio, TX and apparently David was on the roof and some how fell and Ashley came home to find him laying on the ground, struggling to breath. David was immediately life flighted to the hospital but was pronounced to not have any brain activity shortly thereafter.

Some time during the afternoon yesterday, once David’s family arrived, he was taken off of life support. To go from such an active lifestyle to immediate danger and ultimately death certainly shocks anyone but what is even sadder is the amount of life and love this man had for his family, friends and faith.

I unfortunately did not get to meet David as we have not had our team summit meeting (mid-March) but from all of the posts and emails going back and forth yesterday, you could tangibly feel the hurt, confusion and sadness emanating from everyone. David touched many peoples’ lives directly and in-directly, one of those being mine.

While yesterday was a tragic and painful day, it was a wonderful reminder that I am where I am supposed to be and I’m with who I’m supposed to be with. The Rev3 Team and staff members truly care about one another and are kind-hearted people.

Last night I went to yoga where we worked (what felt like endlessly) on our hamstrings, hips, glutes, and quads. It was an hour and a half session that I really needed as those are areas that really tighten up. At the end of the class, our teacher read to us a Jim Rohn quote:

“You must constantly ask yourself these questions: Who am I around? What are they doing to me? What have they got me reading? What have they got me saying? Where do they have me going? What do they have me thinking? And most important, what do they have me becoming?

Then ask yourself the big question: Is that okay?”

That quote really hit home as it is something since college I have often thought about but sometimes didn’t  have the courage to act on because “having friends” or “doing things with people” was more important than who those actual people were as human beings.

David’s memory will be honored on our Team Rev3 jerseys which were already in the stages of production but our kit maker, Pearl Izumi, kindly worked with our team to halt production and add his initials to the design and get the kits to us on the original timeline.

Remember to tell your friends and family how much you care for them and appreciate them as you never know what may just happen.

David Naelon

8 Comments

  1. How tragic! I love the quote Jim Rohn your yoga instructor shared. Such powerful words!

    Beautiful memerioal post! I will think about David, his family and your Rev3 Team on my run today and pray for comfort.

Leave a Reply

