Reducing Clutter in My Running and Triathlon Training and How You Can Too

I just read this brief and to the point article on Entrepreneur.com from James Clear titled “3 Time Management Tips That Will Improve Your Health and Productivity” and it sparked me to share it on my business’ Facebook page but to also write a post here about how I am going to apply these three easy tips to my training.

Clear’s first tip:

1. Eliminate half-work at all costs.

Half-work happens when we start on a new workout routine, way of eating, etc and never see it through as we jump part way in to a new way of doing something (different diets, workouts). I’m certainly going to apply this to my business life as social media and technology make it so incredibly easy for this to happen: Oh, someone just commented on a Facebook picture, I have to stop writing this email and comment back.

It happens a lot and can easily force your brain off-track resulting in you being less productive. I’m going to apply this principle to my training. I started with yoga last Friday as I wrote it into my training plan for The Donna 13.1 in February. I am treating my yoga session as if it were another bike or run session, something that is integral to my race success.

freelancer-and-technology

2. Do the most important thing first.

Our brain power for focusing on a task is limited as we all eventually run out of battery juice. If you have a complicated workout or a new skill to learn, try to do it in the morning before your brain becomes cluttered with other to-do items, phone calls and meetings. I love to workout after a day’s work however my motivation can be somewhat lacking after putting in a full day so if I know I’m going to have one of those days, I schedule my workouts for the early morning.

morning-exercise

3. Reduce the scope, but stick to the schedule.

This one is so important to training especially for what I’m going to be doing with my Ironman Lake Placid training. Everyday, someone is posting about an event they are participating in or someone is texting you about the next 10k mud run coming up. I have been known to sign up last minute to have some fun but I’m going to have to stick to my guns when it comes to races this year.

I already have my 70.3 race, Raleigh June 1, scheduled as my big tune up before Lake Placid and have 1 to 2 olympics also scheduled in. There are a lot of races, triathlon, running, cycling, obstacle, trail, etc between now and then but I’m really going to have to ask myself how does this event fit in with my training, will it help or hinder my progress and does it make financial sense to participate.

By reducing my scope to specifically training for and racing Lake Placid and being a Team Rev3 member, other distractions are not going to make the list this year. I’ve got my schedule pretty well set through July now I need to execute it and not let other’s influence sway me.

The reduction of scope can certainly be applied to New Year’s Resolutions. While I didn’t set any specific goals, resolutions, intentions, etc. I have read many blog posts and some just have a ridiculous amount of items on them. Sure it may look great all written out but what is the end result and how will having 15 goals help you to reach that result? More than likely, you’ll become overwhelmed, exhausted, or distracted trying to accomplish all of these things rather than focusing in on 1-3 goals. Reduce the scope and your chances of succeeding exponentially grow.

Lucys Schedule

In summary, here’s what I’m doing to reduce the clutter in my training:

1. Focusing on the task at hand.

2. Working out early and setting time aside for the workout.

3. Sticking to my schedule and long term goals.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

