Slow Going Recovery

I haven’t posted in a while about my training or lack thereof as I’m still slowing coming back from achilles tendinitis and plantar fasciitis. The doctor gave me the all clear last week to slowly re-introduce running back into my daily life.

So far I have done 3 walk/run sessions, two outdoors and one on the treadmill. I felt good after each one of these workouts and was pleased. However, I played golf the other day at a hilly course and woke up the next morning with aching calves and achilles tendons. I honestly didn’t even think about the golf game having such an effect on my legs but apparently it did.

Post run/walk session 1

Post run/walk session 1

I also have been riding my bikes more as the weather has been good. I rode my road bike the other day and could definitely feel more strain on the calves than with my tri bike, just different bike geometries. I’m going to stick to my tri bike from now until my legs are stronger. Before going back to the docs, I had been taping my legs and feet with RockTape and I think it really made a difference, especially in just everyday use. The RockTape provides support where I’m body is currently lacking as well as added circulation which is greatly needed since I have the blood flow equivalent to a straw being used to drink a Dairy Queen Blizzard.

blizzard

All in all, I’m not going to push this recovery and need to stay on top of the stretching, rolling and taping if I’m going to get past this walk/run routine to do The Donna at the end of February.

If you haven’t checked out RockTape yet, I encourage you to do so. You can purchase it here and watch videos on how to tape for different ailments here. 

Rocktape_running_man_front2__83999_zoom

Leave a Reply

