Race Weekend: Iron Girl Clermont Triathlon

Tomorrow morning I head northwest to the hills of Clermont, FL for the Iron Girl sprint triathlon! Prior to racing though, I’m bringing KickStart Endurance goodies with me for the expo and to host the first ever KickStart Endurance TweetUp Social Media Event! This was an idea I brought to the folks of Iron Girl several months ago. At the time, they had never done a Tweetup and I was still training for Augusta 70.3. Well things changed, I deferred Augusta and we set into motion plans for a fun hour of tweeting, picture taking, snack sampling and prizes! Check out #IGKickstartTweetup on Twitter this weekend to see what’s going on!

IG TweetUp Banner

The race expo is being held at the National Training Center. I’ve never been there so I’m excited to check things out and get a feel for the facility. The expo is from 11am-5pm so after things shut down, my friend from Vero and I will drive the course and then grab some dinner before an early bed time. There are two distances for the triathlon: sprint and super sprint. Iron Girl is a great way to try triathlon without being too intimidated. I’m doing the sprint: 1/2 mile swim, 12 mile bike and 3.1 mile run.

For several weeks now I’ve been battling achilles tightness along with tight calves and plantar facitis. I’ve been stretching every day, resting when I think I need to, icing, muscle creaming, rolling and heating. It hasn’t gotten too much better but since its just three miles and I’ll be warmed up by the time I get to the run, I’m hoping things will be ok. When I get back from this race, I’m going to look into running shoes with more arch support. I love my Saucony Kinvaras but as I have ramped up the mileage, I think I need more support especially since my arch is so flat on my left foot.

Sunrunners10k

After my blog post on Wednesday about my running season I have since signed up for the Miami Halloween 13.1 on October 26 with costumes and all! I’m also considering the OCU Orlando half marathon on December 7 while keeping the originally scheduled Jax Bank Marathon (13.1) on December 29. That will certainly keep me busy until 2014!

It also sounds as if I will be doing another sprint triathlon next weekend in St. Augustine with a friend who I got into triathlon last year. I’m waiting to see how Sunday goes in Clermont before officially committing.

The weather here in Indian River has been a lot of rain, wind, unreliable forecasting and humidity. I finally got a 1000 meter swim in this morning after not swimming for 2 weeks. Yep still slow but I at least didn’t feel out of breath, we’ll see how things go Sunday. Until next time…

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

