Working on the Swim

With last race’s swim disappointment as well as the one at the LLS Conquistadores sprint, I’m bound and determined to improve my swim and get it on par with my bike and run. I’ve joined the local swim team’s coaching program and am now swimming Tuesday and Thursday mornings with them.

I have already learned so much about my stroke and how to improve it. Its really helpful to have Coach Gene on the deck, observing all the athletes swimming and providing instant feedback. You can tell he really loves swimming and coaching so its nice to have that energy around.

Here are my take aways thus far:

  • My thumb on both hands have been entering first. This is something I’ve been trying to work on but apparently it hasn’t worked!

Screen Shot 2013-06-28 at 10.22.42 AM

  • I wasn’t gliding at all! By trying to move my arms faster to swim faster, I was actually slowing myself down. Go figure. By allowing my arms to glide through the water, kind of like rollerblading, I take less strokes and go faster.

freestyle reach

  • No body rotation whatsoever. Last swim session, Gene pointed out that I was not rotating except when I was breathing so now I’m working on rotating from my hips.

Screen Shot 2013-06-28 at 10.22.30 AM

  • The rest of my stroke or whats left of it, is pretty good. I have good elbows and a decent pull.

For the first time, I’m actually somewhat enjoying my swim workouts because I feel like I’m actually moving through the water. Thursday’s workout was the longest (2500 yards) I had swam all season so now I know what it feels like and know that I can do it.

This week I’m racing in the longest distance I’ve done to date. I’m using Sunday’s race as a training day and will “try” not to worry about speed or time but rather focus on getting through each distance well and testing my nutrition. The race is somewhat unconventional:

Swim: .911 miles   Bike: 49.11 miles     Swim: 9.11 miles

Last Week’s Totals

Swim: 4,375 meters

Bike: 66 miles

Run: 8 miles

 

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

