LLS Conquistadores Sprint Triathlon Race Report

Heading into this local, Sunday sprint triathlon, I was exhausted. There is just no other word to describe it, well maybe dog tired would be a good one also. I had been going none stop for several weeks; between training, business at the store and life in general. I had done three road trips in a span of 7 days plus lots of saddle testing (more on that later).

Two of my trips were for the following prize:

FeltIs she a beauty! I need a name for her! She’s a 2011 Felt DA4 Women’s bike.

Anyways, I did a light workout Saturday to keep things loose and to get on the new steed and test out the new aero helmet. Yup, that happened too!

Sunday morning came quickly with my alarm going off at 5:45 am. Actually somewhat late compared to other tris I’ve done! I got things organized the night before but of course there were still bottles to be filled and the dog to be walked. I headed out to Jaycee Beach, found a spot along the ocean and headed towards transition. It was nice to see so many people I knew at a race, sometimes I know one or two people at a race sometimes a handful but this being a local race, it was fun to see so many friendly faces.

I got transition set up next to my friend Will. We had been giving each other a friendly ribbing on Facebook prior to this race so it was cool to be set up next to each other. We discussed the waves, checked on our transition set up and chatted with others.

As I headed out of transition, I realized, thankfully, that my car key was still in my shorts pocket. That would have been a pain to deal with after the race!

Slowly people started to head towards the ocean start. I walked on the beach and got a light jog in to warm up.

Screen Shot 2013-05-22 at 9.07.44 PMPretty cool pic huh?

Eventually my dad showed up so I caught up with him prior to heading back to the beach to listen to the announcements and get things underway. The men started first and the women and relay teams followed three minutes later.

IMG_8750

Women’s wave. I started at the front however did not finish there! ha

I got clear water once I got past the first buoy and thought I was swimming pretty well until I was next to someone doing the breast stroke and realized I was swimming the same pace. Ugh

The swim was supposed to be 500m but ended up being 625m.

Time: 14:32

IMG_8767

Got through T1 quickly (1:54) and hopped on the bike. Right away I knew my legs just didn’t have any gusto in them. New word, you like that?! I tried to find a gear I felt comfortable in but allowed me to keep some speed going but it was proving difficult. About 3 miles in, I reached for my drink bottle and take a drink but with all of the condensation, it slipped from my grasp and hit the grass to my right hard. I turned to see it fall and cus under my breath. Had this been a larger race with officials on the course, I would have gone back to pick it up since that can be a penalty. I did go back post race to get it, it was my St. Anthony’s bottle after all!

The rest of the bike was uneventful and slower than I would have liked for the machine’s debut race but I knew my tank was pretty empty. I did average 18.5 mpg which is better than I have had on my road bike ever so I know there is even more speed and power to come!

Time: 41:08

IMG_8785

T2 Time: 1:13

IMG_8808

IMG_8812I headed out on the run and saw my friend Vinny just coming to the finish line. I knew he had to be near the lead so I was happy to see that. The sun was coming out and I grabbed some water for just a little relief. The legs felt a little heavier than they should have but I got through the run without any incidents. It was fun to run pass some other friends out cheering runners on and see the people lining up for Sunday breakfast at the Lemon Tree. I held decent times- 8:39, 8:39, 8:11

IMG_8840

IMG_8835

IMG_8842Run Time: 26:23

Total Time: 1:25:07

2nd in AG 20-29 year old women

PR for a sprint distance race

I’m glad I was able to experience a race with a tired body. Despite not having the adrenaline pumping and legs firing, I had a good time and enjoyed the morning.

I race again this coming Sunday in Fort Pierce for the first of four races with the Patriot 9.11 series. We are a bronze sponsor for the series so it’ll be fun to see how this comes together.

So with regards to the saddle issue, I tried the one the bike came with and it didn’t work for me at all. I then switched back to my old Cobb saddle for the race and that was better. My bike fitter put another one on Monday but I had a feeling it was going to work for me. It was just too narrow. I gave it a shot anyways Monday evening after work and made it about 5 minutes in aero before I literally was grunting out loud trying to get comfortable. I have never ever done this before and kept at it but as my bike riding started to resemble a tennis match Monica Seles was playing in, I had to throw in the towel and ride up right back to my car. I am now focusing on my run and swim.

I had a good run yesterday of 8 miles despite having stomach trouble about 50 minutes in. I tried to follow it up this morning with another 60 minute run but my stomach just hadn’t settled yet so it was a quick run and onto the swim where I made it a whopping 500 meters of feeling as if I was swimming backwards and was about to sink despite moving my legs and arms. Some days you just don’t have it and have to accept it. I’m doing a rest day tomorrow and then will get one more regular workout in on Friday before a light one Saturday and then Sunday’s race.

Also, I’ve learned my lesson, no golf the day before a triathlon, the sun and heat just take it right out of you!

VBCC

Vero Beach Country Club

3 Comments

  1. Nice – I’m loving my DA4 too! I got the Adamo Road Saddle (more cush than the race ones), and it’s taken some time, but I’m finally getting the hang of how to ride it comfortably. I think the DA4 set up is a bit aero to where the handle bars are quite far below the saddle. I found that when on the trainer I put a towel on the handlebars to give me a couple centimeters extra to get used to the position.

  2. Great time and great race. I’m very jealous and am really considering the D4 as I’m riding a Z100 road bike today. You’ll have to post more as you get additional miles with it and have another race or two to see what the difference really is.

Leave a Reply

