“Just WOD It”

After sitting all day (everyday) in my cubicle at work, sometimes the last thing I want to do is go do a workout especially a hard one. As the time neared 5 pm I knew I had to just go and not think much about the upcoming WOD as really I just wanted to lay on the couch with Memphis and watch TV. My little guy misses me, so I should go spend time with him right?! – I use this as rationalization sometimes 🙂

So 5 pm rolled around and I dressed quickly, left from work and headed straight to the box. The rain continued today and left nice, large ponds in the roads by the box for us to do our warm up and WOD run in. At least the temperature was cooler than your average August afternoon! I knew ahead of time that I would need to scale this WOD so I could accomplish it.

Basically, everything in CrossFit is scaleable or changeable to fit your individual skill set. Here are two great posts regarding this subject.

1.  “Inside the Box” – Coaching Irene: From the depths of morbid obesity to competition-hungry CrossFit athlete

2. “CrossFit Stronghold” – Results and Scalability 

Now that you know that you, YES YOU, can do CrossFit, I hope you will give it a tri (did you notice the little triathlon reference 🙂 )

Anyways, back to today’s WOD. Here was the workout:

Deadlift 3-3-3-3-3 (Click here to see how to do this lift from crossfit.com

Maxed at: 165 lbs. for 3 reps

4 rounds
400m Run with sand bag 20 lbs
10 Hand stand push up (This is where I scale the workout, I’m not able to do these yet so I use a box)
10 Deadlifts at 135 lbs.

Time: 17:29

We were given 25 minutes to complete this WOD

 

The dead lifts were the worst part of the WOD which was proven when I found myself grunting like Serena Williams during a tennis match.

Moral of the story:

 

On deck for tomorrow: group run and swim in Ponte Vedra Beach before work. I know this group is fast in the water so I’m hoping I just don’t get lost in their wake!

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

