WODs and Tri-ing

You may have noticed the lack of structured triathlon training recently and that’s because there hasn’t been any! After going to France and focusing on other things, I decided to give myself a little bit of a break for our hottest months and work out in a more unstructured way.

To be honest, I am having a very hard time mentally getting to the pool. I know I should be there but I just can’t seem to do it. Maybe now that I’ve expressed it here it will motivate me to get there this week. Second, after trying a new saddle that apparently was too wide for me, I have been letting some of the sores heal and hence no biking. No swim, no bike, no tri-ing really. I have been running though! I’m still getting used to the humidity and therefore some slower runs.

As you know, I joined CrossFit Total Control last week and we are finishing the first full week of the Paleo 30 day challenge. I did 3 WODs last week plus a yoga class and a 3.5 mile run on Saturday.

Max Dead Lift – 160 lbs

Front Squat – part of WOD

I made it to the 6 am class this morning-woohoo! I weighed myself before class and I am down 4 lbs since last Tuesday night’s weigh in bringing me to 148 lbs.

Here was today’s workout:
Max back squat: reps of 3, 3, 3, 1, 1, 1 I maxed at 115 lbs. In high school I was at 145 lbs so I know I can do better but also know that I was training for that specifically back than.

Here’s this morning’s WOD
5 Rounds of:

max reps of back squats- 95 lbs
5 burpee box jumps
200 meter run

Total time: 16:25 + 16 back squats

I’ll do another WOD this week plus some running and hopefully a bike ride and some swimming before I head to Pennsylvania this weekend for my grandparent’s funeral. Although they passed in late January, we are having the funeral now because the Pennsylvania winters are brutal and no one wants to fly in a little plane during that time. I know it won’t be the easiest weekend but I’m glad we are paying our formal respects to Boo and Poppy in their hometown. Maybe I’ll even be able to get in a “hilly” run while there like my dad used to do “back in the day”!

Happy Monday folks-get out there and do something active.

4 Comments

  1. How did you know what was wrong with the seat? (i.e. That it was too wide?) I just got a new seat and it is chaffing and hurting in ways that I haven’t before, but I don’t know what the problem with it is. I am going to take it back this afternoon and switch it out, but I honestly don’t know what it is that is so different and makes it uncomfortable compared to my previous seat.

Leave a Reply

