BFAST #2 Race Report

Quick post as I am really on a vacay from most things triathlon this week but I wanted to post something about this past weekend’s sprint triathlon in Ponte Vedra Beach. 

I did this race last summer and enjoyed it so I was glad I was healthy enough to sign up again this summer. 

Got to Mickler’s Beach where the triathlon was being held early Saturday morning and as I was picking up my timing chip, a volunteer said the swim had been cancelled. Now, I had to try hard to conceal my smile about this bit of news as I had only gotten one swim in since my wonderful swim in West Palm Beach the weekend before. We’ve had a ton of rain, like Noah’s Arc kind of rain here in Jacksonville, so I wasn’t surprised about the swim. We instead did a mile run down Ponte Vedra Blvd in our waves and then continued on to the 13 mile bike over to Nocatee and the 3.1 mile run again on Ponte Vedra Blvd. 

I enjoyed the race and seeing my triathlon friends as well as a former classmate of mine from way back when in Vero Beach who is now living in the area. She is running next to me in the picture below. 

Image

Times-

Mile 1: 8:34, this mile was actually 1.1 so my first mile was more like 7:38 which is my fastest mile ever

Bike: 43:42

5k: 26:36

Total: 1:20

5/10 in my Age Group (not too bad since I haven’t been training at all)

Image

Next week I will have my training plan and race calendar for the rest of the year (mostly) figured out. Until then, get outside and do something active!

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

