Getting to the start line

As has been the norm the last month or so, nothing has gone as planned but I am trying to adapt as much as possible. I got some good training in last week but was looking forward to trying out my new Saucony Kinvaras Thursday after work until my body decided to have other plans. 😦 I instead took a 2 hour long nap and cooked dinner. Upon getting ready for bed, the left side of my neck seized up and progressively got worse the more I tried to stretch it. I woke up in the middle of the night with the right side seizing up as well. By morning, I had pain from the base of my head all the way down my traps to the ends of my shoulders on both sides. No fun!

I was able to make the trip home to Vero to see my parents for the holiday weekend but training and golf were definitely out. Instead, I tried acupuncture, heat therapy, Rx drugs and rest to alleviate the pain. Not much helped (except for the apple pie, homemade pasta with lobster, and the Nutella, pistachio desert my parents made!) unfortunately until things finally started to loosen this morning. I am now able to bring my ear to my shoulder about half way on either side.

This neck pain is definitely a neuromuscular symptom of stress. I’ve been dealing with a lot  lately and this is the result of it. I’ve got to learn how to stay calmer and not bring my body down when I’m feeling down. I’m going to start reincorporating yoga into my workout routine. Needless to say, I will get creative in the gym this week to keep my muscles active while allowing my neck to recovery fully.

With all this being said, I will go into Saturday’s Motivation Man olympic triathlon with an open mind and no expectations as I will be hitting the “restart” button after this race. I will literally start from scratch, as if I haven’t been training since February as it is clear my body has been rebelling against me recently. I am also taking Friday off from work and taking my time getting to Palm Beach and enjoying my 1 night stay at the Ritz Carlton before the race. A stay at the Ritz is always relaxing!

I came across this quote on a fellow triathlete’s blog this morning and it is so fitting to what I’m dealing with currently:

Race when you feel like it, even if you’re not 100 percent fit. Don’t spend months grinding yourself into the ground training for one event—the best way to prepare to race is by racing. There will be times when you can’t race due to injury or schedule, but take every opportunity to get on the start line and learn something.      Sam McGlone – Ironman Champion

Check out Triathlon Obsession’s blog here 

So here is to getting to the start line Saturday and learning something!

PS Lets hope the tropical storms and hurricanes stay away this weekend!

4 Comments

  1. Hang in there Jaclyn, I am sure you will be up to more training very soon. Good luck this up coming weekend. That lobster pasta sounded great, maybe your Mom/Dad will make that for Jay and I sometime.

Leave a Reply

