Feeling Lucky

30 Days….

Yes, 30 days until I put myself through (hopefully) 6 hours of torture racing in Haines City.  My goal is to finish under or at the 6 hour mark. I am currently still hitting it hard in training but will then start to taper for the race to allow my body to recovery and refresh itself before May 20.

However first I have two important weekends to get through. Tomorrow I’m heading south to Orlando to meet up with my favorite Lake Nona YMCA/Vortex team to swim across Lucky’s Lake. The plan is to do 3 lake crossings. 1 lake crossing equals 1 km so for you non-metric folks, our total swim will be approximately 1.8 miles. More than what we will do in the race but this will give me a very good baseline as to where I stand with my swim and what I need to be focusing on. The swim has been the largest mental hurdle to get over so tomorrow is very important and I know Coach Beth will be there to yell support me through this process. I’m very comfortable in the water but when we get into these longer distances in open water, my breathing becomes irregular, shallow, and quick. I’m open to any suggestions anyone has!

Following our crossing of Lucky’s we will run for 90 minutes in heart zone 2 which will not be quite like the run I had last week of 9 miles which will be nice. The weather isn’t looking great but as long as there is no lightning, we will be out there, toiling away!

Next weekend is St. Anthony’s! This will be my first full olympic distance tri since the swim portion of Nation’s was cancelled. St. Anthony’s will be another great test for May 20 and is a great race all around.

What are your plans for the 2012 season?

“The price of success is hard work, dedication to the job at hand, and the determination that whether we win or lose, we have applied the best of ourselves to the task at hand.” – Vince Lombardi


Leave a Reply

