2012: Goals and Aspirations

So we’re 13 days into the new year and I have been contemplating my goals for this year for several months. Many of you know that I have had some knee issues and found out this week that I have a sprained ACL. While this may not sound good, it actually isn’t too bad as it means that I don’t have any tears in my meniscus or ACL. I will now work on strengthening the surrounding muscles and stay away from running for a couple of more weeks.

However, I digress, I have been waiting to hear my diagnosis before committing myself to any races for 2012. I was hoping to be able to compete in the 26.2 with Donna for the half marathon but that is now out.

The new goal is to be healthy to run a strong 5k for The Donna on February 11 and then support Team TOUR at our waterstop on Sunday. We heard Donna Diggan and Dr. Edith Perez speak today at lunch and it was great hearing about all the money being donated to help fund top level breast cancer research as well as provide funds to those undergoing treatment and need help paying bills. Check out The Donna Foundation.

The even bigger goal now is to finish the Ironman Florida 70.3. I registered for the event about an hour ago and now have some knots happy butterflies in my stomach. The race involves the following: 1.2 mile swim in a lake, 56 mile bike ride, and 13.1 mile run. The event takes place on Sunday, May 20 in Haines City, FL which is located SW of Orlando near Tampa.

Should everything progress well with training and the race, I would ideally like to compete in either the Rev3 half iron distance tri in October or Ironman Augusta 70.3 also in October.

            

 

I also (again if everything holds up physically) will be going to Vermont in August to compete in the Age Group Nationals Olympic Distance Triathlon.

Good thing I just signed up our local YMCA which has a heated pool and spin classes! I am also happy to hear that several of my past TNT team members will be doing Ironman Florida 70.3 as well.

As was confirmed yet again this week by the very sad news that a family member, Mitzi Hoffman, past away at 38 years old by viral meningitis, we must enjoy and experience each day we are offered.

Here’s to a happy and healthy 2012! Now go out and do something active!

Leave a Reply

