Better late than never…

Okay so post race laundry, grocery shopping and life in general caught up with me last week and therefore Iput off was unable to blog about Nations. It was a great weekend with a great team. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience with my team in the nation’s capitol. The triathlon itself raised over $2.75 million for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society! That is such a great number and one that will help many people around the world with blood cancer.

As I come off the high of the race, I can’t believe it has come and gone so quickly. I did expect that feeling but you just never know how you will respond to it. I took it easy last week by taking Memphis for a jog in which he promptly threw up all the water he drank onto my porch (yes, he is definitely my dog!) and went to yoga class for the first time in several weeks. I was pleased with my balance throughout the class but man did I feel it the next day!

I found that it is really important to listen to your body post race as it can be difficult quieting the mind when your body needs to recover.

With the Ameliaman olympic distance triathlon just a few short weeks away, I will be getting back into training mode this week so I can be ready for that 1.2 km ocean swim! We have had a lot of rain here recently and it looks like its going to continue for quite a while so I will adjust accordingly but I’m looking forward to getting back into the training groove.

I hope you will continue to follow my blog as I train for these two events to round out this season. My goal for 2012 (is it really 2012 already?!) is to train and complete a half iron distance race (1.2 mile swim, 56 mile ride, 13.1 run) sometime in the late spring, early summer. Things are going to get interesting!

 

Leave a Reply

