Go Time

It’s finally here, the eve of race day in Washington DC. I’ve been training, thinking and strategizing about this race since May. All that is left now is to go as hard as I can and have fun. I know I’ve done the training. I know I’ve done the fundraising. I have to trust in my ability to get myself across the finish line in one piece.

Of course, not having the swim portion does change the dynamic of the race but after seeing the Potomac this morning, I am definitely glad were not swimming!

This race has several significant meanings. My Uncle Joe is currently in remission for Non-Hodgkins lymphoma and has benefitted greatly by LLS and TNT. This is also significant because too many of my family members have been dealt the cancer card and I want that to end, including my grandpa who I unfortunately never had the pleasure to know as he was taken very early in his life by blood cancer Second, my family, friends, co-workers, and believers in LLS have carried me to a fourth place fundraiser finish amongst over 650 TNT racers. You guys raised over $11,000! I honor your commitment by finishing strong tomorrow. Finally, it is of course the 10th anniversary of 9/11 and we are racing The Nations Triathlon in DC. 10 years ago to the day and minute, our country was forever changed. I race and compete in honor and memory of those lost to the terrorists and everyone who has been affected by that significant day.

Wake up call is 3:30 am so I must try to get some rest now. Thank you from the bottom of my heart for your support. I hope to post a great time here tomorrow. I hope you enjoy the pictures.

Doing “My Way”!

20110910-095557.jpg

20110910-095612.jpg

20110910-095628.jpg

20110910-095832.jpg

20110910-095847.jpg

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

