At the 10 yard line

We’re just 15 days away from The Nation’s Triathlon in Washington D.C. I can’t believe its finally here after all the months of training, trying to eat right, and learning the numerous components that go into this sport. I’ve learned about tires, clipless pedals, body glide, and how to not swallow so much water when I swim (this will be especially important after Hurricane Irene passes through DC!)

This summer I entered four sprint triathlons and completed three of them. We know what happened in the first so one of my main goals for DC is to make it through the bike leg without a flat. I’m so glad I did the races this summer as I learned a lot at each race, was able to figure out the appropriate clothing, and was able to experience first hand what it is like at a triathlon on race day. Nation’s will have so many more people participating so it would be absolutely overwhelming heading in there with no experience whatsoever.

This past weekend I had my last tune-up race in Orlando. I nearly drowned on the swim. Ok, I felt like I was going to but I didn’t. I then was able to hit it hard on the bike and run which resulted in a 2nd place finish in my age group (first time placing in a tri!).

 

At this race, I was able to meet most of my fellow TNT teammates and coaches which was great and I am excited to be with them all in DC in a few short days.

Race results:

Swim 14:48

T0 (we had three transition times as the run from the beach to transition was lengthy) 2:07

T1 1:19

Bike 11 miles 38:27

T2 1:41

Run 2.8 miles 22:11, 7:50/mile pace!

Total: 1:20:36

As the days start ticking down, I’m really focused on what I’m eating, how my form is, and in general, how my body feels. I’ve been training for this race since the end of May so now its really wrapping my mind around the fact that I’m physically ready and have done all that I can to be prepared.

What helps this process is knowing that I have a lot of support from friends, family, and coworkers. Yesterday, I reached the $11,000 mark with regards to fundraising for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society and I couldn’t be happier. It is such a wonderful organization so I know the money is going to a great place.

As the work week comes to a close and my last big weekend of training nears, I will leave you all with one of my favorite Frank Sinatra songs as I think it accurately describes my feelings about this summer’s training.

“My Way” by Frank Sinatra

Yes, there were times, I’m sure you knew,
When I bit off more than I could chew,
But through it all, when there was doubt,
I ate it up and spit it out.
I faced it all and I stood tall
And did it my way.

Here’s to doing it “my way” in DC. Stay tuned!

3 Comments

  1. You have accomplished so much since May. Your physical and mental strength have grown into a true athlete. The fantastic amount of funds you raised is a triumph and deserving of a medal. It was all accomplished by doing it “YOUR WAY.”

  2. Jaclyn,
    Thank you so much for your continued dedication and determination on this fund raiser and challenge. You are an amazing person! It is very obvious from your progress and in your updates exactly what Bonnie said, your mental and physical strength has really grown. Such a great accomplishment for you, and such a kind thing to do for us lymphoma & leukemia patients. Thanks for taking the time to give us detailed updates, too. Your in-motion picture is cool.

Leave a Reply

