Just keep going

With less than 60 days until The Nations Triathlon, I am trying to push myself harder and further. I rode the furthest I have ever ridden on the bike, 40 miles, on Sunday. It took me 2.5 hours in strong winds but it was a great feeling of accomplishment. Following my ride, I did my swim workout Monday afternoon. After my warm up, I did a timed 1,000 meters in 14:55. I felt strong and well paced. This shows that my last swim in the BFAST definitely does not accurately reflect my swimming capabilities.

Today I rode for 45 minutes and it was one of the strangest rides ever. My feet fell asleep almost immediately and then started to cramp. In certain places I felt good, keeping a pace of over 18 mph and then other times it felt really hard and no matter what I did, I could only go 15-16 mph. My calves cramped too which is the first time this has happened all of my training. Kind of surprising given the heat we’re experiencing right now. The ride went quickly which I guess is the positive light today!

Tomorrow morning, I will get up early and run for 35 minutes. My goal is to complete 4.25 miles in 35 minutes. That’s an average per mile pace of 8:15. When I first started training for the Disney Princess half marathon in 2009, I was running 10 minute miles. Tomorrows goal is tough but I can accomplish it if I set my mind to it and give it all I’ve got.

I will let you know the result! Good night all!

Leave a Reply

