BFAST…or at least Tri to be!

It’s been a while since my last post as the training has increased and I enjoyed a long weekend at home over Independence Day.

Good news. I completed my first triathlon! I competed in the BFAST sprint triathlon in Ponte Vedra Beach. No blown tires this time! Just a little drifting during my swim. I didn’t have the best swim time, in fact I was about 4 minutes over my time previously. Today, I swam about .9 miles which is what I will swim in D.C. It took me about 33 minutes in high surf. I noticed I was drifting out to sea by not swimming straight so I believe that was a major issue on Saturday.

The bike leg was 13.6 miles over a bridge twice. Boy was it brutal but I will be tackling it again to get ready for September. Finally, my run went well and I was able to pass several people who passed me on the bike. I finished with a total time of 1:27.

It was awesome to have Aunt Bonnie and Uncle Joe as well as my friend Jenny out there to support me….thank you!

On Sunday I had an even more difficult day as I rode for 28 miles and ran 2.5 miles. I didnt have quite the same pep as normal but this was a build week and a great test of endurance.

We are 60 days away from the race in D.C. and more than 3 times over my fundraising goal! I’m still blown away by everyones generosity.

Next weekend, the 23rd, I will be going to Orlando for my first training session with my team. I’m looking forward to meeting everyone and seeing how everyones training is coming along. I hope you enjoy the pictures courtesy of Jenny!

20110711-092933.jpg

20110711-093005.jpg

20110711-093045.jpg

1 Comment

  1. Congratulations on completing that triathlon. And also on the success in your fundraising. I appreciate the update and the pictures with Joe & Bonnie, too. You look like you are having a blast. It has to feel good to be able to complete events like this. I appreciate all the effort and dedication you are putting into this, because I know the funds will help many people like Joe and I.

Leave a Reply

