Perspective

As you may have seen on Facebook or heard, I had an untimely tire blow at the turn around point yesterday in my first triathlon. I was cruising along at a good speed and all of the sudden heard the air let out of my rear tire. There I was on the side of A1A having just past some friends who got up early to cheer me on and no way to finish the race.

Having just got my road bike, I was hoping to make it through my first race and then learn about changing tubes and carrying CO2 canisters around. Unfortunately that did not happen and I was forced to drive a volunteers car back to the race site and along the way pick up another stranded first timer.

Needless to say I was disappointed that I did not finish especially when I was feeling good and my dad and Memphis were waiting for me but at least it was not due to a lack of training or an injury. I had my dad drop me off before we got home so I could at least run and “complete” all there 3 legs.

I learned a lot in my first experience and am eager to tri it again on July 9 here in Ponte Vedra Beach at the BFAST triathlon series. My training has been going well and I felt really good in my swim workout this morning so I know I can do it!

On a more positive note, I came home this evening to seven checks addressed to the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society totaling $2,650!! My dad is matching the highest donation amount from his clients so as of right now, he is guaranteed to match $1,000! I couldn’t believe the check when I saw it! Memphis and I did a little dance in celebration of all the money that came in over the weekend. What is even more exciting is that the fundraising is not even close to being over yet. I have certainly met my goal and will exceed it so that is wonderful news for the Society.

Finally, this weekend tested my Paleo lifestyle and I believe it held up just fine. My stomach felt fine and my legs were feeling good so I am getting adequate energy from the foods I am eating. I snapped a picture of what I bought at Publix tonight to give you an idea of what I eat. I hope you enjoy!

Thank you for the support especially regarding my first race. As my dad said, I can only go up from here!

20110620-095356.jpg

1 Comment

  1. Congratulations on reaching such a huge goal! It says something about you being a great human being. Proud of you getting back in the race to use the opportunity for some great training. Kudos to your Dad! He is amazing and never fails to surprise me. What a great Dad he is!

Leave a comment