Race Week!

My first triathlon, The Dad’s Tri, is this Sunday in Melbourne Beach, on Father’s Day. I am excited that it is here and that my training will pay off at the finish line however I know that I have lots more training to do for September 11!

Its only fitting I think that I make my dad get up super early on Father’s Day to support his daughter in her first triathlon. It is his fault mostly that I enjoy doing things such as this since he’s never been able to sit still himself!

Dad and I on his birthday at the Orlando Magic, DeVos graduation ceremony

As I write this, it is lightning, thundering and pouring outside. I am suppose to be swimming tonight but clearly that is out of the question. Hopefully it calms down enough so I can get to the gym and run on the treadmill a bit.

This past week’s training was hard but very rewarding. Yesterday I did two mini bricks consisting of a 10 mile bike ride, 2 mile run, 5 mile bike ride, and 1 mile run. My 5 miles on the bike were my worst ever as the seat that came with the bike absolutely did not fit me and I was in pain (that was taken care of this afternoon with a new seat). On the upside, I had two great runs which surprised me as when I was running, I did not feel like I was going at the pace that showed on my watch at the end. There is a reason why these training activities are called “bricks” because your legs feel like bricks after the bike and into the run!

Anyways, I am in a lighter mode of training this week and then will hit it hard again next week.

Fundraising Update:

My fundraising has been going well as I am at 22% of my goal. My recommitment date is coming up soon so I need to be at at least 25%. I hope you will pass this blog and link along to others who care about supporting the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

There are two great events coming up locally to help support my fundraising efforts:

  • July 24, a beer pong tournament with raffle prizes, flip cup tournament,and drink specials will be held at a local brewing company, Engine 15.

Both events are sure to be a lot of fun so I’m looking forward to promoting these events and raising money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.

In closing, as LuLuLemon‘s manifesto states: Do one thing a day that scares you

To donate to this great cause please go to: My Fundraising Page

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

