Up and Running (literally)

I decided to do this when I committed myself to joining Team in Training here in the Central/Northeast Florida region. Things happened quickly but I am now training for The Nation’s Triathlon in Washington D.C. on September 11 (yes, the 10th anniversary and no, we’re not flying on that day). This event will be my biggest and grandest challenge yet but one that I welcome with open arms.

First, let me back up and explain a little more as to how I got here and why the heck I’m attempting my first blog. I have always been into sports and trying new, exciting things, especially activities that push myself both physically and mentally. Over the years I have participated in just about every sport in school and continue to play golf and volleyball. I guess this all truly started when I moved to Boston for my internship in the summer of 2007 with the Celtics and began my summer with a complete stranger, Jenny Prugnarola and her group of completely awesome friends who quickly welcomed me as one of their own.

Jenny was always doing something active whether it was her GE softball team or preparing for a waterstop on Saturday morning for her own Team in Training group. Being introduced to runners through Jenny and attending things with her was my first experience with these athletes (they are strange breed I admit) as running was always my least favorite activity, especially long distances. As the summer progressed, I was in the gym a lot but also running around Somerville as I wanted to see if I could really run more than a mile. It wasn’t until I moved to Cleveland following college graduation that I was literally itching to run due to being couped up inside all winter and having a strong desire to leave the house I was living in whenever I could. The spring of 2009 I signed up for my first race, Boston’s Run to Remember 5 miler. I had fun training for it and loved the atmosphere, people, and free food at the end (Bagels, bananas, sports drinks and free swag!). Jenny did the half marathon run that day and I can remember fondly telling her my time and that I still had energy to keep running! This was the start of something….

Jenny and I after my first race

Since that time, I have moved to Jacksonville, participated in several 5k races, trained for and competed in the 2010 Disney Princess Half Marathon and participated in an awesome boxing group, Boxing Bunnies.

Before the big half marathon at about 5 am!

I am currently training for my first triathlon, the Dad’s Day Tri in Melbourne Beach, FL and have enjoyed the training so much that I wanted to kick it up a notch and go for an even larger goal, an international distance triathlon hence signing up for The Nation’s Tri and Team in Training.

What makes this event even more special is the fact that it is the only triathlon in the country that specifically fundraisers for  The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society. Team in Training’s fundraising efforts go to this group which does excellent research and work. Leukemia and lymphoma have affected my family greatly so I see no reason why I can’t finish a triathlon when others are suffering with this horrible disease for months and sometimes years on end.

My hope is to post about my training, Paleo lifestyle, and life in general as it relates to my upcoming triathlons. Most posts will not be this long (hopefully!) but will rather include pictures, workouts, and funny things that always happen when you train for such endeavors.

Here is a quick snapshot of today’s training: Woke up at 5:15 am and got on the bike for a 10 mile ride down and back on A1A. Yes it was dark but it was relatively quiet. I did 10 miles in 40 minutes at about 80-85% exertion. Later today, I will meet up with a new group I’ve joined at the LuLu Lemon store and run a 5k loop with them this evening. I guess I should mention that this was my first early morning workout in forever but since switching my diet to the Paleo lifestyle, I’ve had more energy and no stomach problems so it wasn’t nearly as bad getting out of bed this morning as I expected. Woohoo!

Finally, this blog is entitled “Running with Memphis” as Memphis is my 1 year old Schnoodle pup who constantly loves to get outside and run especially with me by his side. He will definitely be part of my training routine and may even have some barks or howls of wisdom along the way.

Memphis and I after the 2011 Habitrot 5k in Vero Beach

5 Comments

  1. Uncle Joe and I are so honored that you will be competing in the Triathlon for the terrific charitable organization, Leukemia and Lymphoma Society in his honor as well as your deceased grandfather. The LLS group is truly amazing and we have seen first hand what they accomplish. They give numerous grants for research that has led to new protocols that have extended people’s lives. They give financial support to those who need assistance with medical and very expensive drug costs. They give support to the caregivers. Their support line has been invaluable. They are there with medical staff to ask questions and give guidance in deciding what route to go. I will challenge my network of family and friends to contribute to your fundraising challenge.

  2. Yay Jaclyn!!!! I’m soooo excited for you 🙂 It’s been awesome sharing the past couple races with you and now lots of Paleo recipes! You’re going to love the TNT experience between the training and the emotional rewards of helping others. You’re going to rock it!

  3. Jaclyn, I’m so excited you started your blog! I’m really proud of you for committing to the triathlon – it’s a lot of work but the payoff for you will be such a huge accomplishment! And to honor your Uncle makes it all the more special. Well done! Looking forward to future blog entries with you & Memphis!

  4. Whooohooooo Jaclyn, this is awesome!!! I am so glad I can read about your life in Florida – it’ll help me not miss you so much! 🙂 My favorite part of your blog so far is this: “group of completely awesome friends”!!! And my second favorite is the picture of you and Memphis – what an adorable team!!! I can’t wait to follow you through your adventures! xoxoxox Erin

Leave a Reply

